Book Mash [15]

A feature on Nawanda Files that is math...for books, where we mash up new and old releases with books, tv and movies. What equals our favorite reads? Find out in the simple equation below. (Most likely posted by Becca.)


Combine an incredible dystopian setting with characters you'll come to adore, a world where a natural element is depleted (in the film Solarbabies, there's little water, but this book lacks another element we need to survive), and military-esque elements that'll keep you on your toes. 

What do you get?



Breathe
by Sarah Crossan
Publisher: Greenwillow
Release Date: October 2nd, 2012
Read Our Review 

The world has no air. If you want to survive, you pay to breathe. But what if you can't? And what if you think everything could be different? Three teens will leave everything they know behind in Sarah Crossan's gripping and original dystopian teen novel of danger, longing, and glimmering hope that will appeal to fans of Patrick Ness and Veronica Roth.

Ever since the Switch, when the oxygen levels plummeted and most of humanity died, the survivors have been protected in glass domes full of manufactured air. Protected . . . or trapped? Or controlled? Alina's a revolutionary who believes we can save the environment. Quinn's a Premium who's never had to worry about having enough air. His best friend, Bea, is an Auxiliary who's never worried about anything but having enough air. When the three cross paths, they will change everything. Sarah Crossan's thrilling and provocative novel is about passion, about yearning for something better, and about breaking free for the very first time.


I love this series so much. I just finished Resist the sequel and conclusion to Breathe, and my review will be up soon, but this has to be my favorite dystopian series. Ever! I love every bit of Crossan's powerful prose. Out of the above three comparisons, it reminds me the most of Under the Never Sky for the dome-shaped place that the affluent live in (and in Breathe's case, everyone but drifters and Resistance have taken sanctuary in that bubble.) This is a must, must, must read ;)

Have you read Breathe? Do you agree with the Mash?


This feature will replace Like This, Try This and usually be posted on Fridays. Feel free to create a Book Mash of your own!

2 comments:

  1. I was lucky enough to meet Sarah Crossan at Books of Wonder for a signing last year, but Breathe is still on my shelf, hidden behind piles of other books! The cover for the sequel is gorgeous, I think I'm waiting for that to release to even begin thinking of starting Breathe... I'm always afraid of starting a series and enjoying it and having to wait a year for the next one. Everyone probably feels that way, but I make myself buy the book when it comes out and then wait! Actually, I do this with almost all the books I buy... I think I have a new book hoarding problem...

    Also, Solarbabies? This looks awesome! Gonna go check my library to see if they have it. :) I LOVE sci-fi movies.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. So lucky! I would love to meet her! She has literally become my fav dystopian writer. Love, love, love. And you must start it when the sequel comes out. The series as a whole is fantastic.

      Solarbabies is such a campy movie, kinda cheesy, but that's why we love it. We dressed as the roller-skater kids one year for Halloween :D

      Delete